The Bandroom has been the home of Auckland City Brass since 1958, but before that it was a pumping station. In 1911, Mt Roskill Road Board called in water-diviner, Rev Harry Mason, to locate a site in Three Kings that would provide a good local water supply. He identified this site, and in 1915 the board built a pumping station here to service the district.
The building was later converted into Mt Roskill’s first community hall, where social gatherings and local theatrical productions took place. During the 1950s, the Auckland Boxing Club used the building. In 1958, the Mt Roskill Municipal Band was granted sole use of the facility. The building was restored by Mt Roskill Borough Council in 1988 and today it is still used by the Auckland City Brass for rehearsals, performances, and workshops.
Located on Grahame Breed Drive, Three Kings, the building is known as the Old Pump House. There is a deck out the back of the building for outdoor performances and social events, and players and visitors can use the free car park located right in front of the bandroom, which provides ample parking. Please note that access to the hall is not currently appropriate for wheel chairs.